Land & Field
Plan Your Visit
Completed in 1939 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, this 7,000-square-foot Greek Revival estate was Clara and Henry Ford’s lowcountry dream home. It now serves as a community centerpiece with a riverfront swimming pool and deck, manicured gardens, formal living and dining rooms and five beautifully appointed guest suites.
Rich in character and steeped in history, The Main House is a place where members can gather, connect and relax. On the first floor, find a wood-paneled library—a quiet place to read the morning paper—a bright breakfast room stocked with coffee and tea, a kitchen and a formal living room often used for book club meetings, wine dinners and other special member events.
Available to reserve for Discovery Stays or by members for special events, all five upper-level suites offer garden views and access to breezy, open-air verandas that overlook the estate’s pool and nearby Ogeechee River. For a glimpse of history, reserve The Ford’s Suite, which served as Henry and Clara Fords’ private quarters and boasts a grand, white marble bathroom with golden fixtures.
Framed by lush expanses of grass, flourishing gardens and century-old oaks, The Main House is as enchanting outside as it is within. Just beyond an ornate central fountain is a pair of iron gates, which came from a mansion in New Orleans. On either side of the estate are manicured gardens. The south side rose garden was once tended by Clara Ford, while the north side’s walking garden accesses an outdoor entrance leading to the 1,100-foot underground tunnel that presently stores The Ford’s extensive wine collection.
Timelessly beautiful and always inviting, it's no wonder The Main House is a popular setting for a range of special events.